Memorial University, including the Marine Institute, has bicameral system of governance with a Senate that oversees academic affairs and a Board of Regents that oversees all other matters. The institutional leader is the president and vice-chancellor, who is supported by the University's administrative leadership.


The Marine Institute also has an Industry Advisor Committee, established by an Act of Legislature, with members appointed by the Board of Regents of the University, that advised the Marine Institute on fisheries and marine related programs and activities.


Captain Sidney Hynes (Chair)
Executive Chairman, Oceanex Inc.


Kim Keating (Vice-Chair), Chief Operating Officer
GJ Cahill & Company Limited


Captain Anne Miller, Regional Director
Incident Management, Atlantic Region, Canadian Coast Guard

Rebecca Mearns, President
Nunavut Arctic College

Dr. Rob Shea,
Vice-President of Memorial University (Marine Institute)
Fisheries and Marine Institute of Memorial University


Keith Sullivan, President


Tracy King, Deputy Minister,
Department of Fisheries and Land Resources


Eduardo Araujo
President, MISU


Leonard Pecore, President
Genoa Design International Ltd.


Ross Butler, CEO
Cooke Seafood USA & Wanchese Fish Company


Martin Sullivan, CEO
Ocean Choice International L.P.


Michael Cole, President
Fugro GeoSurveys


Kendra McDonald, Chief Exeutive Officer
Canada's Ocean Supercluster

Margot Bruce-O'Connell
Public and Government Affairs Manager and Vice President
ExxonMobil Canada