The Journal of Ocean Technology is an open access independent quarterly periodical published by the Fisheries and Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland. It is specifically designed to cater to all segments of the global ocean technology community. Its mission is to expand global knowledge and understanding of ocean technologies, to serve as the medium for publishing world-leading research and to promote innovation that contributes to responsible ocean utilization and management.


For many involved in oceans, regularly publishing results of research, development and commercialization activities continues to be an effective means of advancing their work and their organizations. While there are many communication tools available to assist in this process, the scientific journal continues to serve as the main currency for intellectual capital and as a mainstay for both disseminating and validating innovation across the industry.


Composed of three sections, the JOT offers full coverage for the oceans community. In addition to a number of columns and special features, the JOT includes the following regular sections: essays; peer-reviewed papers on science, technology, and engineering; and Spindrift. This section offers a glimpse into the “human” side of ocean technology by featuring one-on-one interviews with leading experts; looking at the past and future of a specific themed area; and sharing news and other interesting information.


Make the JOT a permanent addition to your reading list by subscribing today.


Production team

Randy Gillespie, Publisher

Dawn Roche, Managing Editor

Dr. David Molyneux, Technical Editor

Carla Myrick, Graphic Design

Danielle Percy, Graphic Design

Deva Murthy, Marketing and Sales (Advertising and Subscriptions)

Crystal-Lynn Gorman, Administration

Victoria Smith, Research

Tommy Hawco, Finance


Editorial board

The JOT Editorial Board provides advice and input to the production team to ensure that the JOT maintains and increases its position as a high quality, international scientific periodical that publishes themed essays in an educational and concise manner and peer-reviewed papers that describe cutting edge research in ocean technology, science, or engineering. Members are appointed for one- or two-year terms (renewable) and membership regularly rotates. The membership reflects the diversity of the ocean technology sector and includes members who have experience relevant to the focus of the JOT. To contact an editorial board member, click here. Include the name of the editorial board member you wish to contact in the subject line.


Dr. David Molyneux, Oceanic Consulting Corporation (Canada), Technical Editor

Dr. Ralf Bachmayer, Memorial University of Newfoundland (Canada)

Dr. Baris Barlas, Istanbul Technical University (Turkey)

Dr. Serdar Beji, Istanbul Technical University (Turkey)

Kenneth Cast, Hydro-Lek Limited (UK)

Dr. Chris Campbell, Marine Renewables Canada (Canada)

Dr. Ada Gotman, Novosibirsk State Academy of Water Transport (Russia)

Dr. Pingguo He, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth (USA)

Heather Manuel, Fisheries and Marine Institute (Canada)

Dr. Sue Molloy, Glas Ocean Engineering (Canada)

Dr. Martin Renilson, Australian Maritime College (Australia) and Higher Colleges of Technology (UAE)

Dr. Vincent Rigaud, IFREMER (France)

Dr. Zoheir A. Sabeur, University of Southampton (UK)

Dr. Prasanta Sahoo, Florida Institute of Technology (USA)

Dr. Antonello Sala, Institute for Marine Sciences (Italy)

Dr. Marcos Salas, University Austral of Chile (Republic of Chile)

Dr. Mohammad Saeed Seif, Sharif University of Technology (Iran)

Dr. K.J. Spyrou, National Technical University of Athens (Greece)

Eoin Sweeney, energy and marine consultant (Ireland)

Dr. Stephen Turnock, University of Southampton (UK)

Dr. Mark White, MeteoGroup Offshore (Ireland)

Dr. Paul Winger, Fisheries and Marine Institute (Canada)

Special Editorial Advisors

Lorraine Busby, Memorial University of Newfoundland (Canada)

Catherine Lawton, Fisheries and Marine Institute (Canada)

Louise White, Fisheries and Marine Institute (Canada)